Patanjali’s eight paths of Yoga 7 = Dhyana

Traditional Yoga, as set out by patanjali in his Yoga sutras, consists of eight ‘paths’. The first five are called  bahiranga sadhana (external aids to Yoga), and the last three are called antaranga sadhana (internal aids to Yoga).

Dyana is the second step in meditation, where the thought and concentration is profoundly still and steady. As is Dharana, the meditator and the object remain seperate.

This entry was posted in Article, Philosophy, Student resources, Teaching resources, Traditional Yoga and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *